Loading Events

« All Events

From consensus to sociocracy

October 15 @ 20:00 - 21:30

Free – $12

“We’re run by consensus. How can we switch to sociocracy (Dynamic Governance)?”

Sociocracy is used by dozens of communities (82 are listed on ic.org with “sociocracy” as their governance system) – for good reasons:

  • Communities have egalitarian roots – everyone’s voice matters.
  • They are built on trust and the ethos of working together to manage the community themselves.

The sweet spot between an egalitarian decision-making system that allows groups to be productive and clear in their decision-making systems is where sociocracy is strong.

In this webinar, we will show how sociocracy works in communities that are already established. Many built communities run by consensus – and many of those communities have members who are unhappy with the system and would like to switch to sociocracy. Maybe because General Meetings generate too much conflict and burn-out, or because people get tired of making proposals that then get taken apart.

What’s in the way?

  • Understanding the differences: what are the key changes from consensus to a sociocratically run community?
  • What to expect: what about the people who are against changing the current system? Who don’t like sociocracy?
  • Logistics: where does one start to make such a transition? How have others done it? What do we need to learn?

Disclaimer: attending this webinar is by far not a guarantee for success. We don’t have the magic fix. We really really wished we did! All we have is a significant amount of experience with these dynamics – and we’ll tell you all we know!

(Not part of a built community? See our webinar for forming communities.)

Presenters

This introduction will be taught by Jerry Koch-Gonzalez and Ted Rau, both staff in Sociocracy For All, and authors of the sociocracy handbook Many Voices One Song. They both live in a cohousing community that switched from consensus to sociocracy.

Format

This event will include a short welcome/check-in, followed by a 45min presentation and time for questions from participants.

Event time

The event will be on Oct 15, 8pm Eastern Time (confusingly, this equates to Oct 16 0:00 UTC).

This corresponds to:

    • Oct 15, 5-6.30 pm Pacific Time
    • Oct 15, 7-8.30 pm Central Time
    • Oct 15, 8-9.30 pm Eastern Time
    • Oct 16, 8-9.30 am Perth, Australia
    • Oct 16, 11-13.30 Sydney, Australia

Event time in your time zone:

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Details

Date:
October 15
Time:
20:00 - 21:30
Cost:
Free – $12

Venue

Venus – SoFA Zoom Room
https://www.sociocracyforall.org/venus-zoom-299978898
Website:
https://www.sociocracyforall.org/venus-zoom-299978898

Organizer

Sociocracy For All
Email:
info@sociocracyforall.org
Website:
www.sociocracyforall.org

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Consensus to sociocracy - free ticket
$ 0.00
Unlimited
Consensus to sociocracy - with donation
$ 12.00
Unlimited