Loading Events

« All Events

Sociocracy in forming communities

October 8 @ 20:00 - 21:00

Free – $12

How does sociocracy (aka Dynamic Governance) work in forming communities (cohousing and ecovillages)?

Sociocracy is used by dozens of communities (82 are listed on ic.org with “sociocracy” as their governance system) – for good reasons:

  • Communities have egalitarian roots – everyone’s voice matters.
  • They are built on trust and the ethos of working together to manage the community themselves.

The sweet spot between an egalitarian decision-making system that allows groups to be productive and clear in their decision-making systems is where sociocracy is strong.

In this webinar, we will show how sociocracy works in forming communities – groups that are looking for a site or have started to build.

Why is this relevant now?

  • Because you’re making big decisions! Make them well!
  • Because you’re setting the culture now for the years to come – early community building is key to deep, healthy relationships in the long run.
  • Because community is much sweeter when meetings are connecting and productive!

(Already in a community run on consensus? See our webinar for established communities.)

Presenters

This introduction will be taught by Jerry Koch-Gonzalez and Ted Rau, both staff in Sociocracy For All, and authors of the sociocracy handbook Many Voices One Song. They both live in a cohousing community.

Format

This event will include a short welcome/check-in, followed by a 45min presentation and time for questions from participants.

Event time

The event will be on Oct 8, 8pm Eastern Time (confusingly, this equates to Oct 9 0:00 UTC).

This corresponds to:

    • Oct 8, 5-6.30 pm Pacific Time
    • Oct 8, 7-8.30 pm Central Time
    • Oct 8, 8-9.30 pm Eastern Time
    • Oct 9, 8-9.30 am Perth, Australia
    • Oct 9, 11-13.30 Sydney, Australia

Event time in your time zone:

Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com

Details

Date:
October 8
Time:
20:00 - 21:00
Cost:
Free – $12

Venue

Venus – SoFA Zoom Room
https://www.sociocracyforall.org/venus-zoom-299978898
Website:
https://www.sociocracyforall.org/venus-zoom-299978898

Organizer

Sociocracy For All
Email:
info@sociocracyforall.org
Website:
www.sociocracyforall.org

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Sociocracy in communities (free)
$ 0.00
Unlimited
Sociocracy in community (with donation)
$ 12.00
Unlimited